UConn Honors 2000 Alma Exley Scholar

Desi Nesmith, 2000 recipient of an Alma Exley Scholarship, has received the first Promising Young Professional Award from the Neag School of Education Alumni Society of the University of Connecticut.

Mr. Nesmith began his career as a fifth grade teacher in East Hartford in 2002 and was named principal of America’s Choice at SAND School in Hartford, Conn., in 2009.

Former Neag Dean Richard Schwab said that “Desi is one of the most talented graduates that we had during my tenure as dean.”

Mr. Nesmith holds B.S., M.A. and post-graduate degrees from UConn. He was named a New England Scholar in 2001. He was selected as Teacher of the Year in 2006 at the Mayberry Elementary School. In 2007 he was honored by the Connecticut State Board of Education for contributions to the profession of teaching. In 2009 he was presented with the CAEOP (Connecticut Association of Educational Opportunity Programs) Award for his outstanding educational, community and personal success. And he was the keynote speaker at the 2009 Neag School diversity celebration.

Posted October 14, 2009